Press Release
November 1, 2011
3 minute read


Trenton, NJ (November 1, 2011) – Sustainable Jersey announced today its 2011/2012 Board of Trustees led by Chairperson, Pam Mount, who is a Lawrence Township Councilwoman and the former Chair of the New Jersey State League of Municipalities’ Mayors’ Committee for a Green Future.  The newly formed Board includes New Jersey’s most accomplished leaders in municipal governance and sustainability, including mayors, sustainability experts, accomplished scholars, corporate leaders and innovators.   

“We are extremely fortunate to have such talented people join Sustainable Jersey,” said Donna Drewes, Co-Director of the Institute for Sustainability Planning and Governance at the Municipal Land Use Center at The College of New Jersey and Sustainable Jersey founding partner.  “Each Trustee brings extensive experience and his/her leadership is something that will be an invaluable asset as Sustainable Jersey strives to expand its reach across New Jersey to support every town that pursues a comprehensive sustainability program through our municipal certification program.” 

In just over two years, Sustainable Jersey’s 350 participating communities now represent over half of the state’s municipalities and nearly 75 percent of its population.  Due to its rapid success, representatives of Sustainable Jersey are strengthening the organization with the addition of the Board of Trustees as it evolves from a partnership into a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.   

The 2011/2012 Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees includes:

  • Clint Andrews, Professor, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University

  • Roland Anglin, Ph.D., Executive Director, Initiative for Regional and Community Transformation (IRCT), Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University

  • Ana Baptista, Director of Environmental and Planning Programs, Ironbound Community Corp.

  • Chris Bollwage, Mayor, City of Elizabeth (Union County)

  • Richard Dovey, President, Atlantic County Utilities Authority

  • Caroline Ehrlich, Chief of Staff, Woodbridge Township

  • Richard Fair, Director, Master of Government Accountancy Program, Rutgers University

  • James Florio, Former Governor; Senior Partner at Florio Perrucci Steinhardt & Fader

  • Maureen Hassett, Senior Vice President, Govt. and Communications, Economic Development Authority

  • Mary Anna Holden, Mayor, Madison Borough (Morris County)

  • Anne Hoskins, Senior Vice President, Public Affairs and Sustainability, PSEG Service Corp.

  • Jane Kenny, Managing Partner, The Whitman Strategy Group

  • Pam Mount, Councilwoman and former mayor, Lawrence Township (Mercer County)

  • Anne-Marie Peracchio, Director, Conservation and Clean Energy Policy, New Jersey Natural Gas

  • Ellen Pompper, Mayor, Lower Alloways Creek (Salem County)

  • Ex-Officio: William Dressel, Executive Director, New Jersey State League of Municipalities

  • Ex-Officio: Michele Siekerka, Assistant Commissioner, Economic Growth and Green Energy New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection


  • Ex-Officio: Gary Finger, Ombudsperson, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities 

The Board of Trustees will be recognized at the annual Sustainable Jersey awards luncheon on Tuesday, November 15 at the New Jersey League of Municipalities’ conference in Atlantic City. The key note speakers will include James Florio, the former New Jersey Governor and Trustee of the Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees and project partners Joseph Fiordaliso, Commissioner of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities and Michele Siekerka, Assistant Commissioner, Economic Growth and Green Energy, at the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. 

About Sustainable Jersey

Sustainable Jersey is a certification program for municipalities in New Jersey.  Launched in 2009, Sustainable Jersey is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that supports community efforts to reduce waste, cut greenhouse gas emissions, and improve environmental equity. Sustainable Jersey is empowering New Jersey towns to build a better world for future generations.  It provides tools, training and financial incentives to support and reward communities as they pursue sustainability programs.  New Jersey is the first state in the nation to have a comprehensive sustainability program for communities that links certification with strong state and private financial incentives, and a fully resourced program of technical support and training.  Sustainable Jersey is 100% voluntary and each town can choose whether it wants to get certified and the actions it wants to do in order to achieve enough points to get certified.  

Currently, 62 percent of New Jersey’s towns and cities (350 towns across all 21 counties) have registered to become Sustainable Jersey certified.  The program has distributed over half a million dollars to New Jersey communities to support an estimated 1,500 actions taken “on the ground” to make communities more livable, environmentally friendly and prosperous.  Nearly 75 percent of New Jersey’s population lives in registered/ certified Sustainable Jersey communities. 

Sustainable Jersey’s partners include the New Jersey State League of Municipalities, the Municipal Land Use Center at The College of New Jersey, the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection and the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (BPU).  The policies and other substantive contents of the program are developed though a transparent participatory process involving NGOs, academics, government, and the business community.  Program sponsors include the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation, BPU, PSEG, New Jersey Natural Gas, Church and Dwight, Covanta Energy, EcoMatters, New Jersey American Water, Real Goods Solar, South Jersey Gas, Terhune Orchards, Waste Management of New Jersey, Atlantic City Electric, Citizens Campaign, Concord Engineering and the New Jersey Food Council.