Press Release
April 23, 2008
3 minute read


Trenton, N.J. (April 23, 2008)
A diverse group of innovative development and redevelopment projects located in cities, towns and townships across New Jersey will be honored with 2008 Smart Growth Awards from New Jersey Future. 

Seven projects and 29 honorees will receive Smart Growth Awards for initiatives ranging from reuse of a historic building in Newark and major downtown redevelopment projects in Camden and New Brunswick, to an affordable housing project in Morristown, a new town center in Plainsboro and a revitalized town center and transit-friendly redevelopment project in Rahway. (A complete list of the winners and honorees follows.) 


The New Jersey Future Smart Growth Awards honor projects and plans—approved or built—that reflect the most forward-looking development and redevelopment practices in New Jersey. Award-winners are chosen by an independent jury of respected professionals.
“We’re very pleased to honor the creative efforts of municipal officials, state and county agencies, planners, architects, developers, foundations and nonprofits that have made these projects such outstanding examples of smart growth in our state,” said Peter Kasabach, executive director of New Jersey Future. “From historic buildings to hospitals to town centers to transit-friendly developments, these projects show the breadth and depth of smart-growth efforts being undertaken across New Jersey to improve the quality of life for all our residents.”
The seventh annual New Jersey Future Smart Growth Awards ceremony honoring the winners will be held Thursday, June 5, from 5:30 to 8 p.m. at the Newark Club, One Newark Center, 22nd Floor, Newark. Toni L. Griffin, director of Community Development for the City of Newark, will offer remarks. SJP Properties, a full-service corporate real estate firm headquartered in Parsippany, is title sponsor of the event.
New Jersey Future is a statewide research, policy and education group that advocates for sustainable growth, environmental preservation, neighborhood revitalization and transportation choice. Founded in 1987, New Jersey Future is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization and the leading voice for promoting smart growth in New Jersey.
For more information on New Jersey Future and the Smart Growth Awards event, please visit our website or call (609) 393-0008, ext. 101. 
2008 New Jersey Future Smart Growth Awards
Historic Building Reuse
Eleven 80, Newark
Cogswell Realty Group; Bank of America; Bovis Lend Lease;
Building Conservation Associates; Gruzen Samton Architects;
New Jersey Economic Development Authority
Infill Affordable Housing
Abbett Avenue Apartments, Morristown
Homeless Solutions; Town of Morristown; F.J. Rawding Architect;
William E. Simon Foundation; United Way of Morris County
Institutional Commitment to Community Revitalization
Health Sciences Campus, Camden
The Cooper Health System Board of Trustees; Camden County;
Camden Redevelopment Agency;
Cooper Plaza Lanning Square Neighborhood Association;
New Jersey Housing & Mortgage Finance Agency; Saint Joseph’s Carpenter Society
Mixed-Use Downtown Anchor
Heldrich Redevelopment Project, New Brunswick
New Brunswick Development Corporation;
The John J. Heldrich Center for Workforce Development at Rutgers;
Keating Urban Partners
New Town Center Development
Plainsboro Village Center
Plainsboro Township; Sharbell Development Corporation
Town Center Revitalization Plan
Rahway Town Center Master Plan
City of Rahway; Bier Associates; Diversified Communities;
Timothy Haahs & Associates
Transit-Friendly Downtown Redevelopment
Park Square, Rahway
Landmark Companies; Minno & Wasko Architects and Planners; City of Rahway
(The New Jersey Future Smart Growth Awards are selected by an independent jury. Serving on this year’s selection committee are: Thomas O’Neill (chair), Consultant, New Jersey Future Trustee; Michael Farewell, Design Partner, Farewell Mills Gatsch Architects UC; Chris Foglio, President, Community Investment Strategies, Inc.; Anthony Marchetta, Vice President, LCOR, Inc.; Kathleen Miller Prunty, Downtown Director, Township of Cranford, President, Downtown New Jersey; Carleton Montgomery, Executive Director, Pinelands Preservation Alliance, New Jersey Future Trustee; Anton Nelessen, Principal, A. Nelessen & Associates; and Todd Poole, Director of Economic Planning/Senior Associate, EDAW-New York.)