NEW JERSEY COMMISSION ON SCIENCE, INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY

<u>June 25, 2021</u>

This meeting was held via Microsoft Teams teleconference.

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Members of the Commission present: Public Voting Members: Gunjan Doshi, InRhythm, Chairman; Debbie Hart, BioNJ, Vice Chair; David Pascrell, Gibbons, Treasurer; Dr. Joel Bloom, President, NJIT; Charlene Brown, former President AT&T, retired; and Dr. Alain Kornhauser, Princeton University.

Ex-Officio Voting Members: Brian Bridges, Secretary of Higher Education; and Brian Sabina for Tim Sullivan, CEO of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority; Dr. Lisa Gleason for Angelica McMillan, Commissioner, DOE.

University Members - Non-Voting: Greg Townsend for Stevens Institute of Technology; and Vince Smeraglia for Rutgers University.

Legislative Member - Non-Voting: Senator Robert Singer.

Member of the Commission absent: Public Voting Member Charlene Brown, ATT (retired); Legislative Members- Non-Voting: Assemblyman DePhillips, Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker, and Senator Paul Sarlo.

Also present: Judith Sheft, Executive Director, CSIT; Joy Johnson, Governor's Office; Jamera Sirmans, Governor's Authorities Unit; Petra Gaskins from Assemblyman Zwicker's office; Raymond Cottier from Assemblyman DePhillips office; Matt Reagan, Deputy Attorney General; EDA: Danielle Esser, Director; Pallavi Madakasira, Director; Alex Hydrean, Sr. Project Officer; Mahako Etta, Program Officer; Fatou Jobe, Project Officer; DeAnna Croner, Project Officer; and Muneerah Sanders, Executive Assistant.

Chairman Doshi called the meeting to order at 10:00 am with a quorum of the Commission present, including nine voting members and five non-voting members.

Per the Chairman's request, Muneerah Sanders read the Open Public Meetings announcement and performed the roll call of the Commission.

Prior to commencing the meeting, Chairman Doshi asked Ms. Esser to read aloud a statement regarding the process for public comment at the board meeting for any members of the public on the call. No members of the public presented themselves at this time

PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

The first item was the approval of the May 14, 2021 meeting minutes.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. Bloom SECOND: Ms. Hart AYES: 8

FOR INFORMATION ONLY: The next item was the presentation of the Chairman's Report to the Commission.

FOR INFORMATION ONLY: The next item was the presentation of the Executive Director's Report to the Commission.

Senator Singer joined the meeting at this time.

Chairman Doshi asked Ms. Sheft to summarize the next item before the board.

ROUND 1 CLEAN TECH SEED GRANT PROGRAM

Ms. Sheft stated that the Members of the Commission on Science, Innovation, and Technology are requested to approve the ten top scoring grants for a total of \$748,000 in funding as part of the Clean Tech Seed Grant Program and to decline the remaining thirteen grant applicants.

REQUEST: Round 1 Clean Tech Seed Grant Program

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. Kornhauser SECOND: Mr. Pascrell AYES: 8

FOR INFORMATION ONLY: Ms. Sheft provided updates on the CSIT Budget.

Chairman Doshi asked Ms. Coviello to provide an update.

Ms. Coviello stated that as a result of the Economic Recovery Act signed into law in January, the EDA is in the process of launching or updating fifteen programs

Ms. Coviello gave an overview of NJ Accelerate program, a "boot camp" for start-ups that offers educational programs and aims to connect them with mentors and best-in-class programs. Ms. Coviello stated that some of the approved Accelerators include Morgan Stanley, and VentureWell.

Ms. Hart thanked the Legislative Members, including Senator Singer, who was on the line and others. Ms. Hart mentioned that she had a conversation with Ms. Sheft and Senator Singer earlier in the week. Make projects available and talk about opportunities, so make sure metrics are coming in and P? especially to our legislative members to make their jobs easier. CSIT is creating jobs.

Chairman Doshi asked Ms. Sheft to introduce the newest CSIT staff member.

Ms. Sheft introduced CSIT Program Officer, Mahako Etta.

Ms. Etta addressed the board, and provided some of her professional background, stating that she worked in the City of Newark, on the STEM Coalition within the K-12 space. She added that she worked closely with NJIT, Rutgers, non-profits, with school and local government.

RESEARCHWITHNJ - Alex Hydrean, Sr. Project Officer, EDA

Ms. Sheft introduced Mr. Hydrean, Sr. Project Officer and requested that he begin his presentation.

Mr. Hyrdrean provided an overview and showcased the vast capabilities of the ResearchwithNJ website. Mr. Hydrean advised that ResearchwithNJ is a free research portal that shows the strong resources at New Jersey universities. It is comprised of five universities, including Montclair State, NJIT, Princeton, Rowan, and Rutgers. The portal includes thousands of research publications, faculty profiles, and aims to assist businesses and entrepreneurs in connecting with subject matter experts at top universities. It also shows past collaboration between New Jersey universities with universities from all over the world.

Mr. Doshi thanked Mr. Hydrean for an informative presentation.

OLD BUSINESS:

There was no old business.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

There was no public comment.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, on a motion by Mr. Sabina, and seconded by Dr. Bloom, the meeting was adjourned at 11:45am.

NEXT MEETING DATE:

The next meeting date for the Commission on Science, Innovation and Technology is scheduled for August 6, 2021 at 10:00 am, virtually.

CERTIFICATION:

The foregoing and attachments represent a true and complete summary of the actions taken by the Commission on Science, Innovation, and Technology at its Meeting on June 25, 2021.

Judith Sheft, Executive Director Secretary

Judita L Sy