#### NEW JERSEY COMMISSION ON SCIENCE, INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY

### **April 9, 2021**

This meeting was held via Microsoft Teams teleconference.

## **MINUTES OF THE MEETING**

Members of the Commission present: Public Voting Members: Debbie Hart, BioNJ, Vice Chair; David Pascrell, Gibbons, Treasurer; Dr. Joel Bloom, President, NJIT; Charlene Brown, former President AT&T, retired; and Dr. Alain Kornhauser, Princeton University.

Ex-Officio Voting Members: Brian Bridges, Secretary of Higher Education; and Kathleen Coviello for Tim Sullivan, CEO of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority; and Dr. Lisa J. Gleason, Assistant Commissioner, for Angelica McMillan, Commissioner, DOE.

University Members - Non-Voting: Dr. Nariman Farvardin for Stevens Institute of Technology; and Vince Smeraglia for Rutgers University.

Legislative Members - Non-Voting: Senator Robert Singer, Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker.

Members of the Commission absent: Public Voting Member: Gunjan Doshi, InRhythm, Chairman; Legislative Members- Non-Voting: Senator Paul Sarlo, and Assemblyman DePhillips.

Also present: Judith Sheft, Executive Director, CSIT; Elizabeth Tillou, Deputy Attorney General; Jamera Sirmans, Governor's Authorities Unit; EDA: Danielle Esser, Director; Fatou Jobe, Project Officer; Pallavi Madakasira, Director; DeAnna Croner, Project Officer; and Muneerah Sanders, Executive Assistant.

Vice Chair Hart called the meeting to order at 10:00 am with a quorum of the Commission present, including eight voting members and five non-voting members.

Per the Vice Chair's request, Muneerah Sanders read the Open Public Meetings announcement and performed the roll call of the Commission.

Prior to commencing the meeting, Vice Chair Hart asked Ms. Esser to read aloud a statement regarding the process for public comment at the board meeting for any members of the public on the call. No members of the public presented themselves at this time

# PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

The first item was the approval of the February 19, 2021 meeting minutes.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. Bridges SECOND: Dr. Kornhauser AYES: 7

Dr. Bloom abstained because he was absent.

**FOR INFORMATION ONLY:** The next item was the presentation of the Chairman's Report to the Commission.

### **COMMISSION MATTERS**

The Chair asked Danielle Esser to present this item which requested approval of the CSIT officers, acknowledged the Chair's re-appointment of the three active committees, with Chairs for each respective committee, the Executive Committee, Audit Committee and the Program Committee, and requested the members' approval of the Calendar of Meetings through April 2022.

**ITEM:** Annual Organizational Meeting

**REQUEST:** To approve the Election of Officers and the Calendar of meetings through April

2022.

Danielle Esser presented this item.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. Bloom SECOND: Ms. Brown AYES: 8

**RESOLUTION ATTACHED AND MARKED EXHIBIT: 1** 

### **CSIT ANNUAL REPORT**

Judith Sheft summarized the 2020 Annual Report for the members.

ITEM: 2020 Annual Report

**REQUEST:** To approve the Commission's Annual Report for 2020.

Judith Sheft presented this item.

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. Bloom SECOND: Dr. Kornhauser AYES: 8

**RESOLUTION ATTACHED AND MARKED EXHIBIT: 2** 

**FOR INFORMATION ONLY**: At the request of Vice Chair Hart, Ms. Coviello, Executive Vice President for Technology, Life Sciences and Entrepreneurship provided an update of EDA Initiatives.

Ms. Coviello spoke about some of the EDA's initiatives, including recently held listening sessions regarding the Economic Recovery Act signed into law in January 2021; the Angel Investor Tax Credit program; and a seed fund for Black and Latinx entrepreneurs.

**FOR INFORMATION ONLY:** The next item was the presentation of the Executive Director's Report.

**FOR INFORMATION ONLY**: Ms. Sheft provided updates on the CSIT Budget, Clean Tech Programs (SEED Grant / R&D Voucher), and the OSHE/CSIT Ad Hoc Working Group.

# VIRTUAL TOUR OF PRINCETON PLASMA PHYSICS LAB

Ms. Sheft introduced Andrew Zwicker, in his private role as Head, Office of Communications and Public Outreach, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL).

Mr. Zwicker introduced professor, Sir Steven Cowley, Director, PPPL, who amongst his numerous accolades and credentials, was knighted by the Queen of England for his role in fusion science.

Sir Cowley stated that PPPL was created in 1951 is managed by Princeton University for the U.S. Department of Energy.

The lab is working to develop scientific knowledge and advanced engineering, advance the science of nanoscale fabrication for industries of the future; and further scientific knowledge of plasmas from nano - to astrophysical scales and offers training for future scientists.

Sir Cowley added that in 2019, Governor Murphy announced a registered apprenticeship program to support technical occupations at the Princeton Plasma Laboratory to further fusion energy research in the State.

Ms. Hart thanked Sir Cowley for his presentation.

### **OLD BUSINESS:**

There was no old business.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

There was no public comment.

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

There being no further business, on a motion by Mr. Brown, and seconded by Dr. Kornhauser, the meeting was adjourned at 12:00 pm.

### **NEXT MEETING DATE:**

The next meeting date for the Commission on Science, Innovation and Technology is scheduled for May 14, 2021 at 10:00 am, virtually.

### **CERTIFICATION:**

The foregoing and attachments represent a true and complete summary of the actions taken by the Commission on Science, Innovation, and Technology at its Meeting on April 9, 2021.

Judith Sheft, Executive Director Secretary

Judit L Sty

Secretary