#### **NEW JERSEY COMMISSION ON SCIENCE, INNOVATION, AND TECHNOLOGY**

# July 17, 2020

This meeting was held via Microsoft Teams teleconference.

# **MINUTES OF THE MEETING**

Members of the Commission: Gunjan Doshi, InRhythm, Chairman; Public Members Debbie Hart, BioNJ, Vice Chair; David Pascrell, Gibbons, Treasurer; Charlene Brown, Regional Vice President, AT&T; Dr. Joel Bloom, President, NJIT; and Dr. Alain Kornhauser, Princeton University; Ex-Officio Members: Brian Sabina for Tim Sullivan, CEO of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority; Ralph Hoag for Interim Commissioner Kevin Dehmer of the Department of Education; Interim Secretary Diana Gonzalez of the Office of the Secretary of Higher Education; Non-Voting Legislative Members: Assemblyman Christopher DePhillips; and Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker.

Members absent: Non-Voting Members: Dr. Johnathan Holloway, President, Rutgers University; Dr. Nariman Farvardin, President, Stevens Institute of Technology; and Non-Voting Legislative Members: Senator Paul Sarlo, and Senator Robert Singer.

Also present: Judith Sheft, Executive Director, CSIT; Dr. David Zimmerman, Stevens Institute of Technology; Kathleen Coviello, Executive EVP, Technology & Life Sciences, NJEDA; Danielle Esser, Director, Governance and Strategic Initiatives, NJEDA; Fatou Jobe, Project Officer, NJEDA; Muneerah Sanders, Executive Assistant, NJEDA; Deputy Attorney General Elizabeth Tillou; and Stephanie Brown, Governor's Authorities Unit.

Chairman Doshi called the meeting to order at 10:00 am with a quorum of the Commission present, including nine voting members and two non-voting members.

Per the Chairman's request, Danielle Esser read the Open Public Meetings announcement and performed the roll call of the Commission.

Prior to commencing the meeting, Chairman Doshi asked Ms. Esser to read aloud a statement regarding the process for public comment at the board meeting for any members of the public on the call. No members of the public presented themselves at this time.

#### PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

The first item was the approval of the June 5, 2020 meeting minutes. MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. Bloom SECOND: Ms. Hart AYES: 9

**FOR INFORMATION ONLY:** The next item was the presentation of the Chairman's Report to the Commission. Chairman Doshi thanked the Board members and staff for their commitment to the CSIT, welcomed the awardees of the SBIR/STTR grant awards in advance of their presentations to the Commission, and asked Ms. Sheft to provide her Executive Director's Report.

**FOR INFORMATION ONLY:** The next item was the presentation of the Executive Director's Report. Judith provided the Commission with an update on contracts and other work to date and provided an overview on the four SBIR/STTR grant awardees giving presentations before the Commission today.

#### SBIR/STTR PROGRAM UPDATE - MATCHING GRANT AWARD PRESENTATIONS

The next items were the presentations provided by recent SBIR/STTR Program Grant awardees:

- 1. CloudJuncxion Vinay Purohit Founder and CTO
- 2. OculoMotor Technologies John Vito d'Antonio-Bertagnolli, M.S., CEO
- 3. Twinleaf Dr. Elizabeth ("Jill") Foley, President
- 4. Visikol Dr. Thomas Villani, CSO

# **OLD BUSINESS:**

There was no old business.

# **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

Chairman Doshi asked Danielle Esser to read aloud the public comment policy for any members of the public who would like to speak.

There was no public comment at this time.

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

There being no further business, on a motion by Ms. Hart, and seconded by Dr. Bloom, the meeting was adjourned at 11:14 AM.

# **NEXT MEETING DATE:**

The next meeting date for the Commission on Science, Innovation, and Technology is scheduled for Friday, August 28, 2020 at 10:00 AM by Microsoft Teams teleconference.

#### **CERTIFICATION:**

The foregoing and attachments represent a true and complete summary of the actions taken by the Commission on Science, Innovation, and Technology at its meeting on July 17, 2020.

Judit & My

Judith Sheft, Executive Director Secretary